Pizza Braid

Homemade pizza is all the rage these days in menu planning and recipe sites.  We love homemade pizza, too, but sometimes it’s fun to have a pizza switch up.  This pizza braid fits the bill; it’s tasty, easy to prepare, and beautiful!  Serve slices with a salad and you have a lovely, fun meal for company or for family fun night.

Pizza Braid

Dough:

  • 1 pkg. (1 scant T.) yeast
  • 1 c. very warm water
  • 1/4 c. sugar
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1 egg
  • 2 T. butter
  • 3 c. flour (I use 1/2 white, 1/2 whole wheat)

Filling:  This is what we used on our most recent braid.  Feel free to adjust to your liking!

  • 1/2 lb. ground beef
  • 2 oz. pepperoni, sliced in quarters
  • 1/2 chopped onion
  • 1/2 chopped green bell pepper
  • 1/2 can mushrooms, chopped
  • 8 oz. tomato sauce
  • 1/4 tsp. garlic powder
  • 1 1/2 tsp. Italian seasoning
  • salt and pepper
  • 8 oz. shredded mozzarella cheese

Dissolve yeast in water; add sugar, salt, egg, butter and 1 1/2 cups flour.  Beat until smooth; add enough remaining flour until dough is stiff enough to knead.  Knead for 10 minutes.  (I never knead that long, and I let my dough hook do most of the work!)  Place in a greased bowl and let rise until doubled, about 1 1/2 hours.  While dough is rising, brown ground beef in skillet; add pepperoni and veggies, then add seasonings and tomato sauce.  Mix well. Set aside.  Punch down risen dough.  Roll dough into a rectangle on a greased cookie sheet.  Spoon meat filling down the center of the dough.  Top with mozzarella cheese. 

Cut 8 even slits from the filling out to the edge of the dough.  (I use my pizza cutter to do this.  Hint:  for even strips, slice your middle strip first.  Then slice the middle of the halves, then the middle of the quarters.) 

Start at one end and criss cross the dough strips. 

Tuck the last strip under.  Bake for 15 minutes at 400*.

Serve with a side salad or veggie for a fun twist on pizza night!

 For more kitchen tips, visit Tammy’s Recipes, and for more yummy recipes, visit Blessed with Grace.

28 Responses

  1. I bought two Pillsbury pizza doughs this week cheap after coupon, so I cannot wait to try this! Beautiful.

  2. This looks absolutely beautiful! I am SUCH a huge pizza fan, I make it a LOT. This would be a fun way to switch it up. Thanks for the idea and the beautiful photos!

  3. Oh, this is such a great idea! I make a chicken broccoli braid, but never really gave much thought to trying different fillings! I’ll definitely give this a try soon!

  4. Oh wow, that is SO PRETTY! I love this idea!

  5. Wow, that looks incredible! Thank you so much for posting the recipe and tutorial. I am trying this out soon. I haven’t gotten around to doing my pizza pockets for the month yet, so maybe I’ll just do a few of these instead.

  6. that looks great!

  7. WOW! Yummmmy! Mouth-watering!

  8. Thanks Amy! I just started making homemade pizza. I’m going to try this on our next pizza night.

  9. WOW this looks great! Thanks for participating in Tempt My Tummy Tuesday. Hope you’ll be back. I love you blog!

  10. Your braid looks so much prettier than mine ever does!!

  11. This looks so good and different than the usual pizza.

    Thanks for sharing!

    Cheryl

  12. That looks so yummy – and extremely neat! :D

  13. that looks really yummy!

    Thanks for stopping by! Oh btw, yes that picture was of my pantry from the beginning of the month. :)

  14. Thanks for the great idea. Looks so much easier than making individual calzones and so much prettier than plain ole pizza. I have done something similar with chili and cheese before, but not pizza toppings.
    Thanks for sharing!
    ~Erin

  15. Wow! This is so beautiful. I have gotta try it. Thanks!

  16. Hi! Came over from TMTT.
    This looks awesome. I made a braided dish last week but these braids are perfect looking.

  17. Wow! That is georgeous! I’m going to have to try that one for our Friday Pizza Night!

  18. Amy, I am SO glad that you joined us, today at TMTT. How fun. We love getting new folks with great recipes. This looks awesome. I really want to try it. This is a recipe that my hubby will love. Although, I will have to leave the mushrooms off his side. Silly him, he doesn’t like mushrooms. I love them. I do hope you will come back, next week.

  19. Finally a pizza dough recipe that doesn’t involve a bread machine. I’ll have to try this…it looks very impressive!

  20. this looks so good, thanks for the pictures too!

  21. Ooooo….I LOVE this recipe and the photos are wonderful. It makes me want to go bake one right now. Mmmmm…..

  22. Have you ever tried freezing these? I am wondering if they hold up well? Thanks!

  23. WOW! That is beautiful, and looks yummy too!!!

  24. Thanks for the recipe! We loved it. We used pizza sauce instead of tomato and it was great! Thanks again

  25. That is one gorgeous dinner! It looks intimidating, but I
    may be brave enough to try it. tfs

  26. [...] Yummy Dinner Published October 21, 2008 Food Pizza Braid. [...]

  27. Amy, just wanted to let you know that I made this for dinner the other night, and it was a hit!

    I did make a few changes, though:
    1/4 lb. beef
    4 oz. pepperoni
    3 oz. can olives, drained and chopped
    1 small onion
    1 small bell pepper
    1 clove garlic, minced (actually, I used my microplane to grate it)
    omitted mushrooms (I was out)
    a couple pinches of rosemary, thyme, oregano, and basil (out of Italian seasoning, too, lol)
    tomato sauce was the same
    and used a little less cheese

    The dough was really, really, soft, so it was a little hard for me to work with, but I made it work, lol. I might give it one more chance, but if it doesn’t work out for me next time, I’ll probably just use my pizza dough recipe. Either way, I will definitely be making this again!!! Thanks!

  28. Oh, yeah, and I forgot to mention that I did knead some seasonings into your dough (just like I’ve listed in my pizza dough recipe I linked to above). :o)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

