Mulch Pit Mystery

If you knew me in real life and you heard me talk about my “green thumb,” you would laugh… hysterically.  I can’t even keep house plants alive, for goodness sake.  However, you can count me in for a good science experiment (I taught middle school science for several years.  That qualifies me… for something… right?), and that seems to be just what we have.

We have a mulch pit in our back yard.  It’s actually a 3 1/2 feet x 15 feet compost pit (it “came with the house”) but we’ve for some reason dubbed it the mulch pit, or if you’re my two-year old, the “pulch pich.”  Anyway, we dump grass clippings and food scraps and whatnot in there and our neighbors contribute coffee grounds and the ashes from their wood stove.  From what I’ve read, that should make the soil pretty rich (for this BIG garden that I’m planning for next year… with my green thumb).  Well, one day when I was out pulling weeds from our teeny-tiny garden (another experiment, sort of… Lance wanted to make sure I’d take care of a teeny-tiny garden before I tore up more of the yard… He has little faith in my green thumb) I noticed something growing in the mulch pit that did NOT look like a weed.  Since I’m a gardening authority, I should know, right?  So instead of turning over all the stuff in the mulch pit (regular maintenence) we decided to let it grow.  Fast forward one month.  This is what we have.

Definitely not a weed.

Definitely not a weed.

Our mystery plant has some serious buds, er, blooms?  Well, lots of little things are about to open inside all those leaves. 
We’ve been comparing the leaves and stalks to the cantelope, watermelon, zucchini, and squash that our neighbors grow, and nothing seems to match up exactly.  I’ve even googled up some pictures, and I’m still not convinced.  Yes, we threw out watermelon rinds and seeds and cantelope rinds and seeds.  I’m pretty sure we hadn’t discarded any zucchini ends before this mystery plant began to grow.  To someone with a REAL green thumb, maybe this bloom would provide a clue.
Mystery bloom.

Mystery bloom.

As for me and my green thumb?  I think we’ll just keep watering and waiting.  Maybe in a few weeks my family will be feasting on cantemelon, or waterhini, or cantelini.  Hmmm, now THAT would be an experiment!

4 Responses

  1. Well, if you can grow something out of your mulch pit I would say you have a pretty good green thumb! I can’t wait to find out what you have growing in your pit. You could be famous if it ends up being one of the things you suggested. The cantemelon sounds the most tasty! By the way, your little garden looks pretty big to me!

  2. Wow, I wish I knew what it was, you’ll have to keep everyone updated. I’m betting on a melon, something about the leaves says melon to me 🙂

  3. Thanks for stopping by my blog! 🙂
    Yes, it does resemble a pumpkin to me. Did you happen to toss any pumpkins in there?
    Here is a picture of pumpkins:
    http://www.hort.purdue.edu/ext/senior/vegetabl/pumpkin2.htm

    If not a pumpkin, then probably some type of squash. One thing to keep in mind, if you buy any GMO veggies, and the seeds are accidently planted, they will end up growing into something that doesn’t always resemble the “original” fruit. (There’s a great motivation to stick with heirloom/organic seeds- you can save seeds to replant!) 🙂

    Blessings,
    Michele

  4. Hi,
    I know that this is seriously late reply, but I just found your website via tammy’s recipes. I am pretty sure you are growing zucchini. Those flowers are edible and the zucchini will grow on the stem behind the flower.
    A tip I learned from my neighbour is that the flowers that do not have a zucchini at the stem should be cut off. This is supposed to give more nutrients to the flowers/stems with the zucchini. Just don’t pick the flowers that have a zucchini growing on them because that zucchini will die. I’d feel pretty silly now if it wasn’t zucchini… but perhaps some help for your garden patch next year?
    Take care,
    Jody in Toronto

Leave a Reply

