My New Ugly Scar

“What happen your arm, Mommy? You be okay?” That’s what I heard when I walked through the door today as my two-year old surveyed my bandaged forearm.

Yes, buddy, I’m fine. (And thank you so much for caring!)

This morning I had a mole taken off of my arm. When I went to my very first dermatology appointment six weeks ago, the PA said it was probably fine and we could just keep an eye on it every three months or so. Well, this busy mom doesn’t have time to be traveling an hour away to the dermatologist every three months. I also do not have the mental or emotional energy to be bothered with continual “what ifs” every time I notice the crazy thing. So… OFF WITH THE MOLE!

Before “surgery” (that’s what they called it, but let me tell ya… I’ve given birth three times without any pain medication… this was more like a spa treatment) I was reminded that “there will be significant scarring.” Fine by me! I guess the older I get the more I value my health and the less I worry about being perfect on the outside. (Darn good thing ’cause it ain’t happenin’!) So today I am very grateful for my new scar. Maybe it will be a conversation starter… “Yes. I had a mole taken off. You know, you really should visit the dermatologist yourself. Yes, painless. Yes, worth it. Good thing to get checked out regularly…”

By the way, our check up six weeks ago was a family affair. And I’m so glad it was. They took a “freckle” off of my husband that day because they were very concerned about it. We couldn’t even see it – seriously didn’t know what they were talking about, but they saw something with their “magic light thingy” that concerned them. His report came back clean (thanks, God) but you just never know.

Go get yourself checked out. Maybe we can compare scars!

To see what other bloggers are grateful for today, visit Laura’s blog.

5 Responses

  1. Good for you! I’ve had so many suspicious moles over the years (and my share of blistering sunburns as a child), but I’ve always been scared to go to the Dr’s. Like you, I can give birth with no pain meds no problem. And yet the thought of going to a doctor to have my moles checked out scares me. (Pretty silly, huh?)

    I actually had one on my neck that always made me nervous. It would bleed if got bumped, etc. A few months ago, it just fell off on its own. It was so weird. I don’t know if that’s a good thing or a bad thing…I’ve been to scared to ask!! LOL 🙂

    I am thankful you were able to get yours taken care of. You are a braver girl than I!

  2. My husband is covered in what his mama has always called his “holy moleys” lol. It’s a cute little joke between them that absolutely terrifies me!!! He needs to get them checked. He has so many and they are so much bigger than any freckles that I have. I’m glad you were able to get yours taken care of! And thanks for stopping by 🙂

  3. Good deal!
    The less stress and fretting–the better mommies we can be!
    Thanks to the Lord for ‘clean’ reports!

  4. I just wanted to recommend mederma cream. It can reduce the appearance of scars (if that might bother you) if you apply it a few times/day to the area once your doctor gives you the go ahead!

  5. […] Posted on August 11, 2008 by amysfinerthings So, remember this?  Turns out that pesky little mole (the one that I was told was probably fine and we should just […]

Leave a Reply

