Just Ask!

I love a good bargain.  I really love a good bargain on something I intended to purchase anyway.  Lately I’ve been scouring the dairy section at our local (as local as it gets around here) grocery store looking for the bright orange and yellow Manager’s Special tags.  I’ve purchased pints of sour cream for $.69, gallons of milk for $1.99 and bags of cubed cheese for $.99.  I’ve also found quarts of yogurt for $1.19 and even a few dozen free range organic eggs for $1.49.  (NEVER have I had any trouble at all with the quality of these items!)

On my last shopping trip I was really hoping to find yogurt with a Manager’s Special tag.  We’ve been using a lot of yogurt in smoothies this summer.  I didn’t see any tags, but I did see some yogurt with a just-expired “sell by” date.

I had a choice to make.  Keep walking and skip the yogurt (no way was I purchasing it full price) or… gather up some courage, put the pride in the back pocket, and, gulp… ask someone about the yogurt.

You KNOW I wouldn’t be writing this post if I kept walking, right?!?  I did it!  I carried that yogurt right up to two men who looked like they would have an answer for me.

“This sell by date has passed.  I was wondering if I could have a sticker on these.”

“Don’t see why not,” one man said to the other.

So the sticker guy goes to get his “sticker gun,” returns, and…

… stamps $.25 stickers on my yogurt.  That’s 25 CENTS for 32 ounces of yogurt!  Lots of smoothies on our menu this week.  😉

Never be afraid to ask!

For more Frugal Tips, head over to Biblical Womanhood.

7 Responses

  1. You are so right!! This is very encouraging. It’s hard to ask, but the next person that comes along is going to get your deal – guaranteed. Way to go!

  2. good job! 🙂 I’m always to bashful about things like that. glad it paid off for you.

  3. Great job! I’m always hesitant too, although I’m not sure why because it has worked for me in the past. At some grocery stores, they have a policy that if you find anything on their shelves that is past the expiration you get the same, unexpired item for free. My Kroger used to do this, although I’m not sure if they do anymore since they seem to be very on top of marking things off a few days before it expires and I haven’t run across any expired goods lately. It would probably be good to ask customer service again. Maybe your Kroger has the same policy.

  4. great job!

  5. Great job! I am always on the lookout for sell-by expired tags on dairy too, but I still haven’t asked for a mark-down when there is no tag yet. I need to be on a better lookout!

  6. Good for you. I am a chicken at heart, so it is very difficult for me to ask for a discount. I am working on it though!
    Toni

  7. I went to Kroger yesterday to pick up some sour cream for Taco night and got a 16 oz fat free sour cream for .50 cents! =) YIPPEE!!! It was a Mgr Special too!

Leave a Reply

