Pandemonium

Recently, while dining on my now-cold meal (do moms ever eat warm food?) at our loud, chaotic supper table after a typically crazy day of spinning my wheels, I looked up through the happy chatter (and clatter… and beating of the platters…) and caught my husband’s weary, laughing eyes. 

He winked.

“We asked for it.”

Yes.  We did.  We asked for it.  Actually, we begged and pleaded with God for three long years.  Please… a family.

And He answered.  Six years ago this month our infertility struggles ended.

And now at supper time  

  • I eat cold food
  • I get up from the table 42 times
  • I feed someone else from my plate (because food tastes better off of mom’s plate)
  • I mentally calculate how much food I’m going to have to buy in 10 years
  • I soak it all in

We asked.  He answered.  And we are grateful for the pandemonium that makes us a family.

Check out Laura’s blog for more Gratituesday.

8 Responses

  1. Good! I am glad I am not the only one that eats cold food, or eats standing up for that matter! I also panic at the thought of my food bill in a few years. 3 boys, yikes!!!! After seeing what a14 yo girl can put away I can’t even imagine what my boys will eat like in a few years!
    Toni

  2. I can so relate to this. We also prayed long and hard for our family. We also begged and pleaded and after many struggles the Lord blessed us with three children. Whenever I feel overwhelmed and tired, I try to remember that I have been blessed. There was a time when I longed for just one child and now I have three. Thanks you so much for sharing!

  3. Oh, meal time can be CRAZY…and yet you’re so right! We asked for it…we want it…we LOVE it!

    Why IS it that food tastes better off of Mommy’s plate?

  4. I, too, can relate. We unsuccessfully tried to get pregnant for over 2 years. But thankfully, God led us to a wonderful doctor who put me on Clomid immediately, and two months later we were pregnant with our first. Now we’ve got three wonderful kids, and I am so grateful—even with all the noise and stress (and cold food). I wouldn’t have it any other way.

  5. Awesome post! I remember how much of a struggle that time was for you. How God provides for us when we are faithful and patient! Praise Him for your three beautiful children and the awesome parents he has transformed you and your hubby into.

  6. God is good! Someday we might even like cold food after years of having to eat it that way!

  7. This is great! 🙂 We’re still in the struggling time of asking…. (but thanking God for the one daughter we have, through adoption).

    Thanks for stopping by my post over at Keeper of the Home today! I really enjoyed yours last week.
    Blessings,
    Michele 🙂

  8. Family is wonderful and something to be very grateful for! Thanks for sharing! 🙂

Leave a Reply

