Fill Your Grill

It’s stinkin’ hot where we live.  I’m talkin’ 99 and humid.  Eeek.  Even our favorite summer fare, anything from the grill, seems like too much trouble in this heat. 
But… we have to eat.  And… I like to keep the oven off as much as possible.  So… when we do cook outside, we FILL our grill

If I’m careful I can cook four, maybe five meals (for our family of 5 — three small children) on our grill at the same time. 

  1. steak (right off the grill, I don’t like reheating steak)
  2. hamburgers
  3. chicken, for grilled-chicken Cobb salad
  4. bratwurst, chopped and sauteed with peppers, onions, and potatoes
  5. we usually have chicken and brawts left over for another meal

Filling our grill saves us time and propane energy, and keeps us cool on hot days.

For more kitchen tips, visit Tammy’s Recipes.

7 Responses

  1. I never thought of that! What a great idea. We have a “charcoal” grill (we use wood my husband gets for free), so it takes a while to get started. This will make good use of time and money – thanks for the tip!

  2. Thanks for stopping by! =) I wished we had a backyard to grill in! Our apartments won’t let us grill because we are in the “CITY OF HOUSTON” dumb! I can’t wait till we get moved in our house which will be the end of Sept! I think I will grill every night for a month! lol

    I did meatloaf last night and it was amazing yummy!!!! I’m looking forward to next weeks menu!!!!

  3. I do this the best I can for my family of 7! I don’t get as many meals but even getting 2 meals like what I do helps with the extreme heat. 🙂

  4. What a great idea! A great way to keep the house cool thru the summer. I like to cook ahead but never thought of doing it on the grill! Also we use charcol and I hate that we use so much just to cook for two people.

  5. We defrost a 3 lb.bag of chicken breasts and brush them with oil and sprinkle on Lawry’s. We grill the whole batch then let them sit a few minutes and slice. We eat half right then and use the second half on caeser salad the next day. I’ve taken the whole batch to potlucks before and they go quickly because they taste good at room temp.

  6. Oh, wow! I love, love, love your blog! I think I spotted a Dave Ramsey girl! Me, too!
    I loved your recent post on infertility. We are at the 2 1/2 year mark of secondary infertility. Thank you for encouraging me with your story.
    Thanks for visiting!
    Mama Said

  7. […] cob, fresh green beans, and tomatoes with feta cheese an ranch dressing.  I figured I would use Amy’s idea from last week and “fill the grill” while we were at it!  I cooked chicken and […]

Leave a Reply

