Strawberries and Bananas

On our way home from a recent errand marathon, we stopped at the grocery store to quickly scan the manager’s specials (we always check produce and dairy).  We didn’t really need anything since we were heading out of town for a few days, but we like to stop to see if we can “steal” anything. 

Here is some of what I came home with.

Twelve pounds of bananas (I know that because the silly checker-boy piled them all on the scanner at once, which probably didn’t help the smoosh factor much) for $.39 a pound, and six pounds of strawberries for $.99 a pound. 

If you’re paying attention, you know that we were leaving town… at 6:00 the next morning.  So, what did I do with all of that produce that would not be edible upon our return?  Well, really you should ask, what did I do with the produce that was left after my children ate 1 1/2 pounds of strawberries and 1/2 a bunch of bananas for supper that night? 

I froze it!

I usually purchase a four pound bag of frozen strawberries for $7something for smoothies.  This is a way better deal than that!  I just rinsed, sliced the tops off and laid them on a cookie sheet in the deep freeze.  In the morning, the very early morning, I bagged them real quick before we left.  I can’t wait to try Tammy’s strawberry syrup over our pancakes this weekend.   

I froze the bananas, too.  I’ll tell you more about that next week (including what I do with all of those bananas!)  I haven’t purchased bananas for more than $.39 a pound for months… and we go through a lot of bananas.  (We can at that price.) 

The moral of the story… don’t turn your nose up at reduced produce.  You don’t always have to eat it right away.  Freeze it!

You can find more frugal tips at Biblical Womanhood.

5 Responses

  1. Ok, I went shopping for MS today and didn’t find one! It could be the grocery stores here–I no longer have access to Kroger/Dillons. The closest and cheapest store is Price Chopper. So, do you find a certain time of day that is the best to go for MS?

  2. We do this often. Why pay 69 cents a pound for bananas when I can pay 10 cents a pound? Our grocery store always has them bundled in 10 pound packages, but that is just fine with us. We eat a few and then freeze them. Frozen bananas are perfect for many things….banana bread, smoothies, muffins, pancakes! My list could go on!

  3. […] it called for. And I didn’t want to add the sugar it called for. Well… we do have strawberries! And we have some orange juice. Fruity is fruity, […]

  4. Yes freezing bananas works, I have a good recipe for banana cake using frozen bananas. If you need a recipe, just stop on by and feel free to ask…..

  5. […] Red-Taped Bananas Posted on August 19, 2008 by amysfinerthings At my grocery store, they are called red-taped bananas. Bunches and bunches of perfectly fine bananas (sometimes even organic!) with red tape around them… signaling to me that they are only 39 cents a pound! For the past several months, these are the only bananas I have purchased, saving us a bundle since we go through a lot of bananas! […]

Leave a Reply

