Our Teeny-Tiny School

Last Thursday my daughter had her first day of kindergarten. The First Day of School. The First. Day. Of. School… for my oldest child. GULP.

You have no idea how much I have contemplated homeschooling in the last few months. I’m a teacher, for crying out loud. For eight years (six years full-time before I was married and while we prayed for a family, and then two years part-time) I managed a classroom of 20-25 sixth graders — and loved every minute of it. I could do it, I tell ya!

But I’m not going to. At least, not right now.

Which brings me to the very thing that I am so grateful for.

We are blessed to live in a community with an awesome Teeny-Tiny (so small that I must capitalize the Ts) school. My daughter walked practically floated (she was a bit excited) into that building on the first day knowing not only her own teacher, but probably 80% of the entire faculty, K-12. She also knows nearly half of the student body, K-12.

I’m so thankful that she is surrounded by people who know her and care for her. I’m glad that her daddy is only a minute away in the next building (he even snuck away on a break and surprised her at recess on her first day). And I’m so very grateful that she won’t be able to get away with anything will be held accountable for her actions and praised for her accomplishments!

Tiny town life is good, and we are grateful! Go see what other bloggers are grateful for today at Heavenly Homemakers.

4 Responses

  1. I wish we had a similar school situation here, but alas we don’t. 😦 Our oldest 3 where in public school last year (as they where still in foster care). Their school was so proud of the fact that they had finally reach a point when 50% of the students where PASSING!
    We decided there was no way we where sending them back this year. I started homeschooling them this summer and had to put my 13 year old back in 5th grade and my 9 year old back in 2nd. My 8 year old is on track, but got his foundation for education when we where living in a smaller town. Our older two got their foundation before they where in foster care, in the same town where we are living now.
    Last week in the mail we received a letter from the school district stating that both schools had failed to reach their progress goals. This makes me so sad.

  2. There are HUGE blessings in having TINY schools! So glad your daughter seems to be enjoying school so far. Wow, what a big change at your house! Do they have all day kindergarden there?

  3. What a wonderful blessing! I remember my first day of kindergarten. I didn’t know anyone except my bus driver (whom I attended church with). He looked a little different in his flannel shirt and work pants than he did at Sunday service where he wore a three piece suit!

    Blessings to you and yours!
    Amanda @ The Rural Bohemian

  4. I went through this on Monday with my youngest … it was so hard ot believe she was going to kindergarten. They grow too fast! 🙂

Leave a Reply

