Red-Taped Bananas

At my grocery store, they are called red-taped bananas. Bunches and bunches of perfectly fine bananas (sometimes even organic!) with red tape around them… signaling to me that they are only 39 cents a pound! For the past several months, these are the only bananas I have purchased, saving us a bundle since we go through a lot of bananas!

On the day that I buy them, and maybe even for the next day or two, we eat them fresh.

  • whole for breakfast or a snack
  • sliced on cereal
  • sliced with strawberries and whipped cream for dessert
  • smooshed up in pancakes
  • sliced in yogurt
  • smooshed up in homemade banana ice cream – YUM

After the first day or two I peel them, break them into about three pieces, and freeze them in containers. They keep their fresh “color” unless they are allowed to thaw. That’s when they turn brown and liquidy and perfect for baking! Here’s what we do with our frozen bananas:

  • My baby (can I still call a girl who now runs and climbs onto my table a baby?!?) loves frozen bananas in bite-size chunks
  • My older daughter also likes to eat them straight out of the freezer.
  • Smoothies — frozen bananas give us much thicker smoothies. We like that!
  • Muffins
  • Bread
  • Grandma’s banana cake with brown sugar icing… my favorite!

Bananas are such a versatile fruit. I use them nearly every day, and since I’m purchasing them for 39 cents per pound I’m getting a lot of banana for my buck! And wouldn’t I love to be Teresa… she gets her ripe bananas for TEN CENTS a pound. WOW!

For more kitchen tips, visit Tammy’s Recipes. I’d love to hear what you do with your bananas!

6 Responses

  1. I make Elvis sandwiches!

  2. I bought a whole big sack at my grocery store last week for $1. I brought them home and froze them.

  3. Last week I went to my local Alidi’s and they had a sign above the getting rip few boxes of bananas they had, the sign said .10. I figured that meant per pound. Was I surprised when I rang out and found out they were .10 a bag (at least 1.5-2 pounds per bag)! They wanted to move them out of the store because they had new ones in the back. Between my mom and I we bought a good $1 worth.

  4. Great deal! We use our bananas for pancakes, muffins, and smoothies. My kids also like to slice them on a plate and freeze them for about 30 minutes. Then eat them with a tooth pick. I am not a big fan of that method, but they seem to like it!
    Toni

  5. I love red-taped bananas!

  6. Hi, I just came on your blog and love, love, love it. I have so much back reading to do. Also love cheap bananas, we puree them and freeze them in the portions needed for our favourite sourdough banana bread.

Leave a Reply

