Generous Family and Friends

… and their food. That’s what I’m thankful for today.

For this… (and so much more just like it)

Generious Garden Goodness

and this…

and all the peaches that I forgot to take pictures of…

and all the fresh farm eggs that my mother-in-law brings when they visit…

and just today as I was standing outside school waiting to pick up my daughter, I noticed Mrs. S (a sweet little library volunteer and substitute teacher) hauling bag after bag of fresh pears into the building. She stopped on one of her trips from the car and asked “Would you please take this?” Um… yeah!!!

I was only wishing that I had brought the wagon so I could “help her out” a little more! (Fresh pear crisp sitting on my oven right now, by the way!)

** I’ve been asked for some pear recipes.  Here are my favorites:  pear crisp, caramel pear crumble, and pecan pear muffins.  Enjoy!

We have been so very blessed this summer with fresh food from family and friends!

Oh, and I’m thankful for my little guy, who brightened my day with this conversation when he saw the pears:

“Yum, Mommy! I wike dat!”

“Yes, you do.”

“Wat is dat?” he asked. (I LOVE how he “wikes” it before he knows what it is 😉 )

“Those are pears.”

“I wike pears!”

And then a few minutes later he kindly asked me if he could have some “parrots” for supper. I love him!

Check out what other bloggers are talkin’ about this Gratituesday.

7 Responses

  1. please post how to make a pear crisp. My husband came home last night saying someone at work was bringing me some pears. I have never eaten pears- I know you are gasping. We just never had them growing up and I got routine with my fruit buying. I can’t wait to try some. My Chinese neighbor brought me 4 “chinese pears” that she grew. She said they are firmer like an apple. I need to try them and make a crisp.

  2. WOW! What treasures!
    They looks ooooooh sooooo good!

  3. It always amazes me what blessings some people can be around this time of year. If I had more time I would start a garden so that I could bless others too.

  4. Oh, I am SO with you on being grateful for all the wonderful yummy things friends share with us! This time of year just fills me with joy!

  5. Oh, Wow, what a blessing! Yum! 🙂

    I think I’d love to have some “parrots” at your house, too. 🙂 (cute!)

    Thanks for stopping by my blog, and for your prayers!
    Blessings,
    Michele

  6. We have some clients at work who are always bringing us yummy tomatoes and squash fresh from their garden. I love seeing those baskets come through the door, too!

  7. Wow Amy, that is awesome! I love the generosity of family and friends too.

    We will be going apple picking in a few weeks and I’m really planning on stocking up. Are you going to be sharing any apple recipes any time soon? 🙂

Leave a Reply

