A Well-Stocked Freezer (Part 1)

With the start of the school year and the unseasonably cool weather we’ve had (70s and 80s in August… in Kansas… never!) my culinary thoughts are turning to comfort food. We’ve thoroughly enjoyed our light, fresh produce-filled summer meals, but I’m ready to get back to baking and stocking my freezers with casseroles, meatballs, breads, sweet treats and soup.

A freezer well-stocked with baked goods and meals comes in handy in many ways:

  • to serve to unexpected guests
  • to share a treat when you become an unexpected guest (what a fun reason to visit an elderly neighbor)
  • to pop supper in the oven or warm in the microwave on crazy days when you must sacrifice either your meal plan or your sanity… or your children 😉
  • to give as a last minute gift (see, I didn’t forget your birthday!)
  • to bless others in an emergency (death in the family, hospitalization of family member, surgery)
  • to bless others during pregnancy or after the arrival of a new baby
  • for a quick heat-and-eat lunch when you need to get out the door (our version of fast food)
  • Good food fast - Pigs in a Blanket

    Good food fast - Pigs in a Blanket

  • to take to friends who are moving, or to welcome new neighbors
  • and now that my daughter is in school… to have on hand for last minute school treats that Mommy just found out about two minutes ago (surely that will never happen to me)

My kitchen encouragement this week is to stock your freezer. I’ve given you some whys. Next week I’ll show you what I like to keep in my freezer!

For more kitchen tips, visit Tammy’s Recipes.

11 Responses

  1. I am “itching” to get my freezer restocked with comfort foods, baked goods, and the like! Over the last few weeks I have been emptying it out of all the old “stock” so that I can get fresh goods into it! 🙂

    Thanks for sharing! Now where can find that pigs in the blanket recipe?!!?? Those look good! 🙂

  2. We’re moving in two weeks so my freezer is nearly empty. It makes me almost scared! I love having my freezer and pantry stocked with good food for my family.

  3. Thanks for the reminder. I tend to stock my freezer like this when I know that I’m going into a season when I may need it (ie. pregnancy or before birth, moving, etc.) but don’t usually do it just because. I can think of so many times when I wish I had meals and treats waiting for us in the freezer! Maybe I’ll get busy on it this week… 🙂

  4. Those are great reasons to stock you freezer! Someday I hope to have a bigger one (mine is always stuffed to the gills already!) 🙂

  5. Thank you for the great reminder! I need to start doing this again. 😀

  6. This makes me want to get a freezer even more! We’re saving for one right now. I’m hoping there will be a fantastic sale… just when we’re ready to buy. 🙂

    Amy it all looks so yummy! Good for you!

    Joyce

  7. Do you really freeze “pigs in a blanket”? I’ve never tried that.

  8. You are so right, there is nothing better than having a well-stocked freezer! I love your list of reasons too.

    I guess it’s just that time of year to begin replenishing the supply. I can’t wait to see what you keep in your freezer next week. I know it will be so encouraging for me.

  9. […] week I shared why I like to keep my freezers fully stocked. Here’s what I like to keep in them. Well, mainly […]

  10. I’m getting ready to get a second fridge/freezer…and now I am truly inspired! I can’t wait to see what’s in your well-stocker freezer!

  11. […] Amy @ Amy’s Finer Things gives us several reasons to keep a well stocked freezer. I was recently given a freezer, so I am ready to read and learn. […]

Leave a Reply

