Veggie Ice Pack

During the making supper before a tiny-people riot breaks out rush this afternoon, I was assaulted with the wailing and gnashing of teeth of a sweet little someone who had been in his room carefully putting away all of his toys and making his bed jumping off of his dresser onto his unmade bed. He missed. He fell. He needed an ice pack for his owie.

I didn’t have time to look for an ice pack, (and I’m not too sure I could have found one anyway) so I reached for our “back up.”

It was cold. It calmed him down. It saved the day. It was a partial bag of frozen peas.

And as I finished up supper preparations, my resourceful children had themselves a little snack. ๐Ÿ˜‰

So, in the event that a sweet little someone in your house has jumped off of his dresser and scraped his leg on his bed, or, um… even if there is a serious bang up of some sort and you really could use an ice pack — NOW — reach for the frozen veggies! It works for me!ย  Visit Rocks in my Dryer for more WFMW.

5 Responses

  1. Thank you for sharing this! It brought back memories to when I had my wisdom teeth removed. My mom put a bag of frozen corn on one side of my face, and frozen lima beans on the other. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Ooh, we’ve had to do this before! Of course, my kids never, ever jump off of their dressers….(cough). ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Great idea, could you be used to heal so many wounds in our house of three boys!

  4. I had foot reconstruction surgery last winter. I went out and bought 2 bags of peas that I alternated. One was always in the freezer and one on my foot! What a cheap way to bring relief to my poor footsy! By the way, I was never afraid of cooking one of them by mistake because noone in my family likes peas! : )

  5. We do the same thing at our house. When my daughter was little (about 9 mos.), it was the only ice pack she would let me use. (She though it was hilarious to have “Spinach on her head!”) ๐Ÿ™‚

    Thanks for stopping by my blog this week.
    Blessings,
    Michele

Leave a Reply

