It’s Not a Bargain if You Don’t Need It

I love a good bargain. When I enter a store, any store, I delight in discovering all things CLEARANCE.

Before we moved to Tiny Town, I was a bargain shopper extraordinaire. I’d hit all the sales. Frequently. I did lots of shopping, but spent very little money (on each individual item). And I had lots of stuff to show for it. Some of it useful. Some of it even needed. But a lot of it… just clearanced stuff.

I’d order an item on clearance, and when it arrived… it might not be exactly what I’d hoped for, or it wouldn’t fit just right, or *gasp* it looked better on the model than on me. But I wouldn’t send it back, because paying for shipping would be more than my refund! So my stuff collection grew.

Things are different now. More children. Less time. Bigger house. Tiny town. Fewer stores. Fewer bargains. Less shopping…

…simpler life… in some ways. Definitely in shopping ways. I’m working hard to rid my home of useless clutter, even if it was a bargain. (And even if it was given to us!) I don’t need 15 pairs of shoes, even if I purchased each of them for under $10. It adds up! I want the simple pleasure of knowing that the items we have were purchased for a good deal and for a good purpose. I desire a purpose for my purchase!

I still have my “gift stash” (of course!) in the basement that I absolutely couldn’t be without. I still pounce on any men’s size 14 shoes that I see for under $30, because size 14 shoe bargains don’t come along every day (or every year) and size 14 shoes are very much needed by an important man in my home. I’m still drawn to the clearance racks and shelves, and I still purchase what we need from them.

My frugal tip this week: while the bargain still beckons… it’s just not a bargain if you don’t need it.

Visit Biblical Womanhood for more Frugal Friday!

8 Responses

  1. good tip! I must admit that I used to be a shopper (though not always bargains), and it’s more satisfying to buy less and have less.

  2. I am working on this too. And I had to laugh at the size 14 shoe. It sounds like you have the same problem I do on that. My husband is a size 13 shoe. You are right, when those go on clearane I get them no matter if he needs them right now or not. I jump at large tall clothes too. 🙂 Thanks for sharing.

  3. This is so true and a lesson that took me a while to learn. I still love a great bargin, but I am more selective in what I buy!

  4. i’m CVSing less and less. mostly because I moved back in with my parents and don’t have a place for my stash. and like you said – getting an energy drink for free isn’t a deal if you don’t drink energy drinks!!

    i have no clue how many pairs of shoes i have. i think i would be scared of the number.

  5. One thing about needing something is asking yourself ‘when’ you’ll need it. Do you have enough on hand to get you through a month or two? There are great buys on toothpaste out there, for example. But if I have 8 tubes in my closet, do I really need another one, even if I can get it for 75% off? Free, yes–I’ll take free anytime! Well, at least for things I’d actually use. Brooke is right–a free energy drink isn’t much of a deal if no one will drink it. IMHO, mostly because it just takes up space.
    That reminds me…I really do need to take inventory soon. Or I’ll end up with 12 bottles of shampoo and no handsoap.

  6. I completely agree! The only “clutter” we have is food storage and items we will really use. If I find a great sale on something we use all the time, I will stock up, but ONLY on things we actually use on a regular basis. My heart and my head feel good about this choice.:)

    We believe the Lord is blessing our stewardship in this area.:)

    Joyce

  7. So true! Every once in awhile I succumb to the temptation to order a great deal from an online clearance (recently some long sleeve modest tops from V.S.) and even though they were almost free, only one actually fits right…so that wasn’t really a bargain at all! Good reminder:)

  8. Awesome Amy! This was so well said and so right. It took me a few years to fully embrace this, but I’ve never been more thankful for a lifestyle change. It is freeing to not walk into a store feeling like I have to look at all the clearance stuff “just in case!”

Leave a Reply

