Early Detection

On August 11, I received a phone call.  The kind of phone call that leaves a person a little shook up the rest of the day.  Through the receiver I listened as a trained-compassionate voice told me the mole that I had removed from my forearm two weeks prior was a melanoma.

It’s not every day that someone calls you up to report that you have skin cancer.

Tonight I am rejoicing that after a second surgery to test the skin around the melanoma, I have been declared “clean.”  Clean is a wonderful thing!

I’ve written the details in previous posts, (you can read more about my experience here and here), but I want to emphasize a few things.

  • My cancerous mole was no bigger than a pencil eraser.
  • The PA that I saw at the dermatologist did not tell me that it needed to be removed — her advice was to “keep an eye on it” and get it checked every three months.
  • I had never been to a dermatologist before that appointment.
  • The mole was just flat out buggin’ me.  It was itchy and gave me the creeps.  (The PA said it was dry.)
  • I am so thankful that I acted on instinct and told them to get it off!

You have to be an advocate for your own health. No one knows your body better than you do.

Early detection is the best method for cancer treatment and survival.

Please take care of yourself.  It’s working for me!

4 Responses

  1. My dad has melanoma and it has made me be more diligent…I see a dermatologist 1x a yr for a full body check of my moles. I try to be more careful in making sure if the kids are outside when it’s sunny that they get sunscreen on.

  2. What a great post! I’m going to have a mole on my arm checked out a whole lot sooner now. Blessings, Whitney

  3. WOW, you make me want to get in to the derm.right now! I have a mole on my jaw line that used to not be there 10 yrs ago and now every year it gets bigger and bigger… sometimes dry around it…. I am a MOLY girl (HA) and know I should have had my whole body checked out years ago…. THANKS to you, I think i am going to put it on my list of things to do/call tomorrow!
    THANKS heavens that you are now “CLEAN”!!!!
    Praise the Lord!

  4. This is definitely important to know your own body!!

Leave a Reply

