Baby Wipes

I’m a pretty frugal person.  We’ve taken lots of steps to live happily on less so that I can be home raising our children.  We don’t do cable.  We rarely eat out.  We don’t have any debt aside from our mortgage.  We utilize our library and fresh free produce and Manager’s Specials.  I’ve even stalked the local grocery stocker and asked for a discountSo why, I ask you, had I never thought to make my own baby wipes?

Even though I’d seen the baby wipes idea on a few other blogs, it took several reads to turn the lightbulb on.  Finally, after reading Joy’s suggestion, I gave it a try.

I won’t go into how to make them; Joy does a nice job of that.  But I will tell you what they cost (for me).

Here’s the breakdown.

1 roll = 88 sheets x 2 (because I cut the roll in 1/2) = 176 sheets

Official "wipes tearer"

176 sheets = 80 cents (withOUT a coupon because my 5 year old daughter, who was in charge of holding coupons, somehow couldn’t think what she did with the coupons at checkout time… never mind that I had THREE MORE of the SAME COUPON with me in my organizer… didn’t even think of that, grrrr)

1 T. baby oil and 1 T. baby shampoo = didn’t take the time to figure it, but it has to be PENNIES, right???

176 wipes fill TWO + (but not quite three) of my store-bought wipes tubs.

So one full tub of wipes cost me maybe 43 cents, without the darn coupon!  Pretty good deal for those of us unfortunate enough to live more than four hours from the nearest CVS, huh?

Thanks, JoyWhy didn’t I try that sooner?

Check out more Frugal Friday at Biblical Womanhood.

*** Update:  I should have let you know that I’ve already tried them out on many a varied 😉 messy situation, and they work wonderfully.  They smell great, too.  Like giving baby a bath with each new diaper!

7 Responses

  1. Now have you tried them out on a messy baby bum yet? I think you’ll be pleasantly surprised how well they work, too!

  2. I have been meaning to try making my own wipes for over a year now… maybe this will be the push I need to actually take on the project! : ) Thanks for sharing!

  3. I tried those but we have so little selection for quality paper towels I ended up going to cloth wipes with cloth diapers. This idea is so much better and cheaper than commercial wipes though. Great site and I just signed up for your feeds.

  4. I started cloth diapering when my son was 10 months old. check out the post on it. http://www.organizingconnection.com/Read/TheOrganizingBlog/tabid/71/EntryID/135/Default.aspx

    The thing I found is you do not need those fancy expensive AIO. A simple cover and some prefolds are perfect. Key is to use disposibles at night as we do not want to mess with their sleeping schedule LOL. I still use my cloth wipes on him then because I have to wash diapers anyway. I only have 4 prefolds and 4 aIO (that I got secondhand) check your craigslist or put an add out and you will be surprised how many good used ones you can find. It is definately worth it, even if you are not having any more. You can always resell them.

  5. Glad to know how these work! Thanks.

  6. Awesome…and fun for your daughter as well!

  7. Someone else mentioned using cloth wipes. I thought I would give my 2 cents about those. I use the cheapo white wash cloths you can buy in bulk at Walmart or grocery stores, folded to fit it a wipes tub and covered in water. No soap necessary. If you feel like you need it though, a squirt of castile soap and a few drops of lavender essential oil make a good combination. I’m going to make some more “gentle” wipes out of some old undershirts my husband has worn holes in. Just cut to the size you want and soak in same mixture. Wash with diapers. I LOVE cloth diapers, and I’m using the “old fashioned” flat diapers and rubber pants! BTW… my pack of wash clothes for wipes was about $3 for 18. I’ve washed them so many times, I’m probably down to about $0.008 per use, and have atleast another year to use them for DD2, plus reuse for future children.

Leave a Reply

