Slow Down!

This month my electric company was kind enough to give me more than a sour taste in my mouth from our latest bill.  On the back of the statement, they supplied free hints for saving money at the pump.  I had seen this information before, written in percentages, but when I saw the actual money lingo I took note. 

Observe the Speed Limit  Each 5 mph you drive over 60 mph becomes the equivalent of spending an extra 30 cents per gallon for gas.

Thirty cents per gallon.  For EACH 5 mph over 60!  (I tend to drive about 73 on the interstate.)  That is significant!  What could you save on a whole tank of gas?  When I did some brief research to confirm the statement (trying to decide if I really did need to slow down) I found similar information on  this govenrnment site…

While each vehicle reaches its optimal fuel economy at a different speed (or range of speeds), gas mileage usually decreases rapidly at speeds above 60 mph.

You can assume that each 5 mph you drive over 60 mph is like paying an additional $0.26 per gallon for gas.

Observing the speed limit is also safer.

So my two information sources are pretty much in agreement.  I’m going to give it a try.  Do we really save that much time driving 5 mph faster, anyway?  For an hour long trip… five minutes, maybe?  If I slow down I could save at least $1.00 in that hour, and more if we slow down on the interstate.  Hmmm… save $1.00+ or save 5 minutes?  I’m going to try to save some $$$ on our next trip. 

Anyone else want to slow down and enjoy the ride?  And the savings?

Check out more Frugal Friday over at Biblical Womanhood.   

2 Responses

  1. Thanks for the reminder to slow down…. I drive a long ways to work and 1/2 the roads are 65 mph… I drive 70…. I don’t know why, I just set the cruise and go… I will try to leave earlier and drive the speed limit!!!!
    Here is to SAVING money, and not time… (hello, I can alot of foods to save money, NOT time after all!!!!!)

  2. Eric does this! He has all the facts, figures and numbers broken down for his car. I’ll have him stop by later.

    I really don’t drive enough to notice a difference myself, but he KNOWS it works!

    Great reminder, and I can’t wait to hear how it works for you.

Leave a Reply

