Best Bulk Buy

Although I gave up my membership recently, I’ve enjoyed my fair share of years wandering the aisles of SAM’S club in search of great bulk deals (and yummy sample snacks along the way!)  I still have access to bulk buying — thanks to “friends in high places” — but with grocery store sales and coupons, I could almost give it up.  Almost.

There is one item that I will never, ever purchase except in bulk.  Yeast.

The above two pound package of vacuum-sealed yeast (yes, two pounds) cost $4.16.  For two pounds!

 

This little 4 oz. jar of yeast costs $3.92 at Wal Mart.  It would take eight of these jars to equal two pounds.  That’s $31.36 for the same thing I purchased for $4.16!  Oh, it gets better… (By the way, I use my bread machine all the time and never use “bread machine” yeast.  The regular stuff works fine for me.)

 

 

 

How about these cute expensive little strips of yeast?  A total of 3/4 OUNCES of yeast for $1.12.  Yikes!  To get two pounds I would have to spend $47.04!  I don’t think so!

 

Moral of the math:  If you do any baking at all… buy your yeast in bulk.  Don’t have a bulk store membership?  Find a friend who does!  Can’t use all that yeast before it expires?  (The stuff I bought last week expires in June of 2010.)  Share it with a friend or two!  You’ll all benefit.

Speaking of benefiting… I’m giving away one of my one-pound packages of vacuum-sealed yeast!  Want some?  Leave a comment telling me a little about your yeast baking experience or routine.  What do you bake?  How often do you bake it?  I’ll randomly draw a winner Sunday night September 28.

Good luck and happy baking!

For more Frugal Friday, visit Biblical Womanhood.

25 Responses

  1. I love to make cinnamon rolls and sandwich bread (a tighter crumb than regular homemade bread). My family goes nuts when they know I’m baking either of those!

  2. I didn’t even realize how great a deal you can get on yeast in bulk. We don’t have a Sam’s card, but I might see if a friend can get me some. 😀 Thanks for the awesome tip for us bread bakers!!

    Have a great Frugal Friday!
    Sherry
    Yellow Cake from Scratch

  3. You used to be able to go to Sam’s without a membership, but you had to pay a 10% markup. Just ask the greeter when you walk in. It would still be cheaper.

  4. I didn’t even know that you could buy yeast in bulk. I use my bread maker weekly, mostly for buns and small loaves and pizza dough. I ‘m thinking of making all our own bread though! Thanks for the chance to win!

  5. I love to make bread in the bread machine, but the cost of the yeast really adds up over time. I actually just priced the yeast at sam’s 2 days ago. I’ve been debating whether I want to get a membership or just pay the extra 10%.

  6. Melissa –

    What recipe do you use to make your sandwich bread? I’m looking to start making mine own, and would love it if you would share!

  7. Melissa – can you share your sandwich bread recipe?

  8. I’m new to baking. I love it. I’m still learning though. I was wondering…Is there a difference between yeast brands? I see people prefer one to the other all the time, but I just wonder if it’s all in their head or if it’s really different.

    Did you buy that yeast in bulk at Sam’s? I’ll have to check, that would certainly make it more cost efficient.

    I’ve been buying those cute little packages.

    I love experimenting with new bread recipes until I find a winner.

    It’s soooooo fun!

  9. I make bread all the time, and in my bread machine. Well, I mix it in the bread machine and then bake it in my regular pans. I’ve never used bread machine flour or bread machine yeast. The regular stuff works just fine. We love homemade bread, not so much for sandwiches, but for toast and bread rolls. We have rolls with dinner all the time. I cook up a batch and freeze part of them and when I need some for dinner I just thaw them. And you’re right, the yeast is so expensive. I need to start looking for it in bulk.

  10. We do not use yeast much, but when we do it’s usually for our bread. I mix my bread the night before and let it rise all night for the first rise. This not only breaks down some of the hard-to-digest componets of the bread, but also helps my whole wheat bread get a little lift. I have my recipe on my blog if you are interested.

  11. I don’t have a Sam’s card and had no idea you could buy yeast in bulk. Thanks for the tip!

    Lisa

  12. that is my best money saver at Sams as well. I have found though that I only ever use 1 of the pounds before the expiration date. It is still a huge money saver, but I wish I knew someone around here that used yeast at all and then I would just give it to them.

  13. My two favorite things to make with yeast are homemade rolls and pizza crust in the bread machine.

    I have bought the Sam’s yeast before, but really had forgotten how much better a deal it is. I have to go get some!

  14. I just bought a 2-lb. bag of yeast, so *please* don’t pick me (hah!), but I wanted to throw in that my dearest mom passed along the info to me that yeast can be refrigerated/frozen to help it keep longer.

    I open the bulk bag of yeast, fill a quart jar that I keep in the frig. for weekly baking (I make 1/2 w.w. – 1/2 white bread for daily eating), and keep the rest in an airtight container or ziploc in the freezer. I have no idea how long it took me to use up the last bag of yeast, but I was WELL beyond the ‘use by’ date, and it all worked like a charm. I understand that you should always bring the amount of yeast needed for your recipe to room temperature before using it in the recipe, but I don’t even do that. I just use it straight out of the frig. jar.

    Anyway, hope that’s helpful for you bulk yeast buyers! Amy, I really like your blog! kristin

  15. Oh how I wish there was a bulk store near me! But the closest one is almost 2 hours away, and we just can’t afford the gas! But baking wise, I try and make 2 loafs of bread a week and we have homemade pizza about every other week. And throw in an occasional batch of cinnamon rolls or just plain dinner rolls.

  16. I’m just now trying my hand at yeast baking. I have to admit, I have the way expensive strips.

  17. FYI if you put the yeast in a mason jar tightly closed in the fridge it will stay fresh longer than the pull date. You can also freeze the extra bag and it will last even longer. It is bad when you get a batch of bread that doesn’t rise double.

  18. I absolutely could not live without my Sam’s Club bulk yeast! Just this afternoon I was rearranging some stuff in my baking cabinet and found a lost 1 lb. bag of it. You would not believe how excited I was.

  19. I have yet to venture out into the yeast world where baking is concerned. I really want to start! Pick me! 🙂

  20. just bought my first bread machine and its on its way- would love this

    you know McCain shops at warehouse stores!

  21. I love to make breads of all kinds! Currently our oven is not working so the bread machine is my only option for baking bread. I’d really like to get into making sourdough bread, too, but haven’t ventured into it yet.

    Please enter me for your giveaway. I’d love to be the recipient of your yeast! 🙂

  22. I also buy flour, sugar, baking soda, noodles & other baking items at Sam’s Club.

  23. I just started yeast baking. My children love it! Thank you so much for the great tip on buying in bulk.

  24. This is also one item we buy in bulk!!!! Actually INSTANT YEAST is the BEST around!!!!
    I think it is actually cheaper here, but I am not sure… I just bought some a couple weeks ago, but that receipt is long gone!
    I love using it to bake EVERYTHING that calls for yeast…
    Rolls, breads, pizza crusts, etc…!
    Our favorite is Caramel rolls!!!!

  25. I used to buy the little pack because it was convienient for my budget compared to the jar. When I found out about the 2 pounder I immediately joined sam club. I also buy their 25 lbs of flour for $8.00.

Leave a Reply

