Menu Plan Monday – My Little Garden

Watching my little garden flourish and produce an abundance of tomatoes, pumpkins, and peppers this week, I’ve felt like I’m raising a fourth child.  The kids have a ball navigating through the plants jungle picking all the produce (lesson learned… don’t plant everything so close together!).  My littlest one tends to gravitate toward the green tomatoes, so I have to watch her carefully! 

I am so very excited about our bell peppers!  Peppers are a favorite around here to complete lots of recipes, but we especially enjoy them in fajitas and breakfast burritos.  I’m thrilled to have so many to slice and chop up for my freezer.  Only my red pepper plants got smothered by the pumpkins, so I have lots of green and yellow left.  Keeping the smug look off of my face at the grocery store this winter when I pass by the peppers priced at $1.00 or more each will be a challenge!

Here’s what we’re eating this week, as we continue to enjoy veggies from the garden.

Sunday, 9/28

  • breakfast casserole, cinnamon rolls, muffins (left over from yesterday’s team breakfast)
  • sandwiches, grapes
  • grilled steak and chicken, potatoes, garden salad

Weeknight Suppers

  • Tex-Mex potatoes
  • spaghetti, green beans or corn, breadsticks (Going to make my own sauce for the first time!  Any advice for me?)
  • BLTs, fried okra
  • stuffed peppers (recipe below), pears
  • Game Night!  leftovers, sandwiches

Saturday, 10/4

  • blueberry pancakes, scrambled eggs, sausage (team breakfast)
  • clean out the fridge
  • black bean nachos, smoothies

Stuffed Peppers

  • 3 green bell peppers
  • 1/2 lb. ground beef
  • 1 c. water
  • 1 tsp. beef bouillon
  • 1 tsp. minced garlic
  • 1/2 tsp. Italian seasoning
  • 1 6-oz. can tomato paste
  • 1/2 c. chopped onion
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1 1/2 c. cooked rice
  • 1 c. shredded mozzarella cheese

Cut peppers in half lengthwise; remove seeds and membrane.  Sprinkle with salt.  Put in baking dish.  Dissolve bouillon in tomato paste and water.  Set aside.  Brown beef, onions and garlic.  Add rice, Italian seasoning, 1/2 tsp. salt, 1 cup of tomato paste mixture and 1/2 of the cheese.  Fill peppers.  Top with remaining tomato paste liquid and cheese.  Cover and bake 45 minutes at 375 degrees. 

Have a great week!  Go visit OrgJunkie for lots and lots of menu inspiration!

4 Responses

  1. Do you use your frozen peppers to make stuffed peppers? I have been toying with that but I’m not sure if it’d work, and I’m not sure if I have enough room in my freezer to hold bell pepper halves instead of strips either *L* I know what you mean about feeling smug with a freezer full of good peppers when they’re SO EXPENSIVE at the supermarket, it’s really great.

  2. Your menu sounds absolutely scrumptious! I love stuffed peppers, but unfortunately I’m the only one that eats peppers in our family. Oh, well! 😦

  3. Amy, that is so awesome about the peppers. Our Kroger has them regularly priced at $1.50 each. We love green peppers too. I bought a bag of frozen diced peppers last month to see if it would work in some of my recipes, but I just wasn’t happy with the results. Peppers are right at the top of my list to plant when we have room for a garden someday. Until then, I’ll keep spending a fortune on them and trying to avoid noticing the smug looks of people like you! 🙂

    Your week sounds fantastic. The tex-mex potato recipe looks great. I’m definitely trying it.

  4. Yummy menu! (although I’ll pass on the stuffed peppers…peppers and I don’t get along very well.)

    Making your own spaghetti sauce is quite easy to do. I always make sure that I simmer it all day in the crockpot and add spices in with the tomato sauce early in the day and then check it around lunch time to see if it might need more spice. That way if the sauce needs more spices, the spices will flavor into the sauce before dinnertime/eating time.

    And just in case you are looking for a good, tried and true sauce recipe…here is mine…. http://glimpseofsonshine.blogspot.com/2007/10/6-medium-carrots-shredded-3-large.html

    Enjoy your week!

Leave a Reply

