Right There in Black and White

I haven’t always been good about taking some quiet, daily devotional time for myself.  And on the rare occasion where I’d be inspired and gung-ho to dive into my Bible and “read every last bit of it” I would always stop short… way short.  Somehow I’d get lost in all the words.  Get confused.  Lose my own attention span.  Be thinking of 1,000 other things I needed to do, or a few other things that were more fun to read.

Since I’ve lowered my standards a bit (I don’t have to read the whole Bible to get something out of it!) and simplified my devotion time (I’m currently using the easy-to-read-and-understand-and-short devotions from Our Daily Bread) and since I’ve purposed to make time for devotions first thing in the morning, I’ve had greater success.  I’ve been rewarded.  Here is this morning’s reward; clear as a bell… right there in black and white.

God gave us eternal life,

and this life is in his Son.

Whoever possesses the Son

possesses life;

whoever does not possess the Son of God

does not possess life.

1 John 5:11, 12

Ahhh, the exciting, refreshing, simple, eternal truth!  What a great way to start the day!

For more Gratituesday, visit Heavenly Homemakers.  There is so much to be thankful for!

8 Responses

  1. If you have a difficult time really concentrating it may be the time of day. If I try to read or pray at night I fall asleep. I am a morning person. You may find trying to really understand it is better to read at lunch time or another time. Make sure you are reading a NIV or other easier to read version so that you can get past the difference in language from some versions. Good for you to be doing something and finding ways to read and understand God’s word. I cannot tell you how much I have memorized helping my kids with AWANA verses. Get an AWANA book, I love having those verses pop in my head when I hear certain phrases.

  2. Praise God! 😀 I love my morning devotions with God. 😀 Thanks for sharing!

  3. THANKS for such a great verse today! I have been looking for SUPER verses to highlight in my sons bible (he gets it presented to him at church on Oct 19th, they want the family to write in it so it is more personal!) THIS is a wonderful verse that pretty much says it all, THANKS!!!!!!

  4. This verse exactly highlights what God has been impressing on me this week. I have no life in myself, but God has put his life into me! He’s so awesome!

  5. Good idea to use the devotions from Daily Bread. Thanks for sharing this awesome verse!

  6. Wonderful reminder! Beautiful verse! Thank you! 🙂

  7. Yes, simple & truth! I enjoy my morning time with the Lord too. Thank you for sharing.

  8. Amy, thanks so much for this encouragement. I’m working my way through the Bible in 100 days with my church and I’m already feeling too overwhelmed. As much as I want to do it, maybe I need to admit that I’m not in a season of life where it is possible, at least not if I truly want to gain something from the experience.

    I love your idea of using Daily Bread. Our church always has those available for anyone to take, but I never have. I think I’ll pick one up next week and try that instead.

Leave a Reply

