Grocery Shopping?

Take the kids! 

Huh?  Doesn’t that go against the very grain of all things sane?  But… but… I won’t get to cross check every one of my coupons with the sales flyer and manager’s specials!  And speaking of manager’s specials, I won’t have time to scour the aisles for those happy orange and yellow stickers! 

Work with me here.  Take the kids!  Preferably during naptime.  And best the morning after a rather sleepless night.  Oh, and load at least one of them into the van while he’s hungry.

The Pouting Before the Storm

Be sure that the only “fun” cart available is missing a steering wheel.  That way they can fight over the remaining wheel while you dart through the aisles frantically crossing off items on the we-have-to-have-this-right-now list.

See?  Faster shopping (in anticipation of the imminent volcanic eruption and complete meltdown) = less shopping = less money spent!

So… how was your day?  😉

For more Frugal Friday, visit all the sane mommies at Biblical Womanhood… who all went grocery shopping after the kids were in bed.

5 Responses

  1. OH, you poor poor thing! HA, I bet you got a couple more grey hairs yesterday!!!!!

  2. Ahh, yes. I remember doing this way too many times! Now my hubby generally does it. Somehow he thinks it’s not too bad. What a sweety!

  3. Oh yes…I remember it well. 🙂

    Whenever it was possible, I tried to do grocery shopping in the evening in those days.
    When DS was 3 and DD was a newborn, I had no choice but to shop in the day, since Dh worked at night. We had one car, so it was a necessity. Anyway, I would go to great lengths to get DS interested in grocery shopping. I went so far as to make him his own “list”. I would glue pictures from the weekly sale flyers onto paper and it would be his job to find those items. Yes…it was a lot of extra work, but it made him love grocery shopping, so it was well worth it.:) Of course, he wasn’t allowed go around the store by himself to pick up the items on his list. Just thought I would clarify that.:)
    Hugs…I know it can be a trying time. Hang in there, Amy!
    Joyce

  4. Wow, sounds like a fun day! I think I can one up you…add a grumpy husband into the mix, and the need for 2 carts for a months worth of groceries. That was my Friday. 🙂

  5. […] favorite chore to do with my kids. In fact, on Friday I found myself wishing there was another way to go about this task. But we survived. My suggestion: take lots of snacks. Lots of forbidden snacks. You know the ones. […]

Leave a Reply

