Stretchy Taco Meat

Mexican-themed meals go over so well at our house that I usually prepare some form of tacos, burritos, enchiladas and the like at least 2 or three times a month.  Until about a year ago, the filling for our tacos was generally just the seasoned meat, lettuce, tomato, cheese, salsa, and sour cream if we had it on hand.  A pound of taco-seasoned ground beef would be enough for one meal plus a couple of taco salads for lunch the next day.

I don’t remember what exactly it was that made me think to stretch my meat… unexpected company, maybe?… but I did it, and we loved it, and I haven’t turned back.  Now our seasoned meat mixture consists of meat (beef, chicken, or pork) mixed with refried beans (homemade) and rice.  The only thing I do other than add the extras, is to also add a little more seasoning and sometimes a little water if it gets too thick.     

We also add a layer of black beans before the veggies. 

The same meat mixture that used to last us one or two meals now needs to be frozen, because we can’t eat it all in one week!

Here’s to frugal, tasty, streeetttcchhyy taco meat!

For more kitchen tips, visit Tammy’s Recipes.

10 Responses

  1. I use rice a lot too! And even oatmeal. (added just a couple minutes before serving. and you can’t taste it!)

  2. Thanks for sharing.

  3. I love adding extra beans to things like that, it works so well!

  4. I love this idea! I sometimes add rice to the meat when I make enchiladas or burritos, but I’ve never thought to add it for tacos. It makes perfect sense though and it looks really good. I’m definitely going to try this next time.

  5. We use rice to stretch meat too! Everyone loves it and it defnitely helps the budget. That picture is making me hungry for a taco now… : )

  6. Love the idea! I try to stretchhhhh as much as I can. 😀

  7. Yummy! I am going to try this.

  8. I will have to try this. I used to know a girl who worked at taco bell. She told me that the meat is mixed with beans there too!

  9. I too have learned to stretch taco meat found this recipe is great!!
    1lb ground beef, 1c. diced onion, 1 taco season pkg,
    16oz diced tomatoes 2c. cooked brown rice.

  10. Found it i th freezer cookbook 30 day gourmet GREAT BOOK

Leave a Reply

