Meat and Potatoes

Lance and I both grew up on good old fashioned meat and potatoes meals.  One of my favorite meals to fix:  BBQ meatballs and cheesy potatoes.  Double yum!  This meatball recipe makes a lot, so I usually divide it into three pans; one to eat and two for my freezer.  I freeze half of the potato recipe, too.  I love having meals handy for crazy days, or to give to a new mom or any family in need. 

BBQ Meatballs

  • 1 can (13 oz.) evaporated milk
  • 3 lbs. ground beef
  • 2 c. oatmeal
  • 1/2 tsp. pepper
  • 1 c. chopped onion
  • 1/2 tsp. garlic powder
  • 2 tsp. salt
  • 2 tsp. chili powder

Mix and shape into balls. Place in pan in a single layer.

Hint:  Skip the mess (and have perfectly uniform meatballs)!  Shape your meatballs with a cookie or muffin scoop.   

Sauce

  • 2 c. ketchup
  • 1 1/2 c. brown sugar
  • 2 Tbsp. liquid smoke
  • 1/2 tsp. garlic powder
  • 1/2 c. chopped onion

Mix together and pour over meatballs. Bake at 350 for one hour. (I cover them for 30 minutes and then uncover for the last 30 minutes.)

Cheesy Potato Casserole

  • 2 pounds potatoes, diced and cooked (can use frozen hashbrowns, thawed)
  • 1 can cream of chicken soup
  • 1cup (or more!) shredded cheddar cheese
  • 1 pint sour cream
  • 1/4 cup chopped onion
  • 1/2 cup butter, melted
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • optional:  1 cup crushed cornflakes and another 1/2 cup melted butter

Mix first seven ingredients.  Spread in 9×13 pan.  Optional:  top with cornflakes tossed in melted butter.  Bake at 350* for 1 hour.   

For more recipes, head over to Life as Mom and The Grocery Cart Challenge.

8 Responses

  1. I use that exact recipe for BBQ meatballs and we love it. I always have some in the freezer to use with spaghetti or meatball vegetable soup. They are very versatile. I even use them as the filling for cabbage rolls. Of course, I’ll add some cooked rice before I shape and freeze them. It makes it very easy to throw a meal together!

  2. Oh, my! These sounds absolutely delicious!! I love meatballs and the potatoes look easy and something we would love!

  3. Sounds delicious! My tiny little girl (the former preemie) recently ate TWELVE meatballs at supper… so I have no doubt she’d love this. I love to make my meatballs in bulk and freeze them in batches… you’re right, it makes life so much easier when things get crazy.

  4. BBQ meatballs and cheesy potatoes are one of our favorite dinners too! I make our bbq sauce almost exactly the same way too. I’m going to try your meatball recipe next time. It sounds great!

  5. Thank you, Amy! These recipes sound so yummy.:)

    I’ve been making a lot of new recipes lately, mostly to keep from being bored with cooking. Dh is just loving it.:) I will definitely be giving these a try.

    Joyce

  6. Sounds delicious! I would never have put those two together, what a great idea…two of our favorite things:)

  7. Double yum, sounds about right!!!
    Thanks for posting… I printed them off!
    Heather

  8. Your recipe makes me hungry. Potato and meatballs are one of my favorite meals or snack. Your recipe looks delicious and it looks easy to do as well. I can’t wait to try your recipe. Thanks for sharing it.

    Regards,
    John

Leave a comment